Although initially pre planned meals filled me with dred at first, it turns out, not a bad idea. I find a day each week that’s quiet (mostly Sundays) and I plan, shop and prepare my meals for that week. It sounds like a nightmare, I know but when you get into the rhythm of it it’s really easy! Just remember that once it is done then you don’t need to worry about being home in time to cook or going to work and fighting off the sandwich van or the chip shop lunch. You are going into the week prepared and confident and one step ahead, Sort your meals, get your portioned snacks and drinks then start your day! I usually train early in the morning before I do anything else, as it sets me up for my crazy day. I hate the thought of doing that and then ruining my training with a bad diet because i’m not ready. Due to the fact I was preparing this to fridge and store straight away, it didn’t matter what order I cooked everything as it was all needing to cool down anyway. So don’t worry about timing.

Here are 2 recipes I created that are easy and tasty and last up to 3-4 days in the fridge.

img_77361

Steak and potatoesย 

  • 2 cooked lean steak fillets
  • 3 large potatoes, chopped and boiled
  • 200g Asparagus
  • 200g green beans
  • 3 Shallots
  • 2 Bell peppers
  • 1 red onion
  • 3 fresh thyme springs
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil

Heat the oil in a large skillet pan and cook the steak to your preferred taste. For medium I did 4-5 minutes either side. Transfer it to a plate.

Saute the diced onions with a little salt in the same skillet until they’re just soft, then add the chopped shallots and bell peppers till they’re golden brown. Add the thyme sprigs.

Place the steak back into the pan over the onion mixture, to soak together for a few minutes, then take off the heat.

Boil your potatoes, asparagus and green beans until cooked.

Chop your potatoes to a decent size that will fit into your trays!

If you want to add a little gravy to your meal then do that now, portion into 3 trays, leave to cool and refrigerate.

Alternatively you could bake you potatoes instead and have the steak and veg as a yummy filling

Each tray is 373 calories (without the gravy)

Boom!

img_77351

Chicken noodles in Teriyaki sauce

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 150g pack Amoy fine thread noodles
  • 2 spiralled courgettes
  • 4 spiralled Carrots
  • 1 small broccoli head
  • 1 chopped red onion
  • 1 clove crushed garlic
  • 1/2 cup Soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons sesame seeds

Cook the chicken over a medium heat until nearly done then add the crushed garlic. Add the Soy sauce, honey and 1 tablespoon of the sesame seeds until it’s thickened.

Remove the chicken and add the vegetables to the sauce (pre boil the broccoli if you want to, I prefer it crunchy) Cook the veg in the sauce until it begins to soften.

Boil the noodles for 5 minutes then add it to the pan of veg along with the chicken.

Portion it out into 4 trays, leave to cool then top with the rest of the sesame seeds and refrigerate.

Each tray is 387 calories

Peace out xxx

