Being the weird, ‘artsy fartsy’ creative type in school I never thought that one day I would enjoy lifting weights! The only time I ever got picked in P.E was for GD in netball, damn my tall but clumsy genes. I remember my teacher letting me and my friend play badminton for the whole year once because I was so terrible at everything sporty! Never would I have believed that I would be training in a gym (with an amazing bunch of people by the way) and have a personal trainer to boot.

Apparently the wide majority of people think that if you’re a woman and you lift weights then you should be some sort of beastly size and in no way feminine. The one thing people say to me when I tell them I like to lift is “but you’ve lost weight, I don’t understand?”

Well as livestrong.com explains it…”Weightlifting is a type of strength-training exercise that burns calories and fat and tones and builds muscle. While you can lose weight by lifting weights, this type of exercise tends to build muscle, which, depending on how much muscle mass you accumulate, can weigh more than fat. This means you could watch fat disappear from your face, belly, buttocks and legs, but may not see a difference on the scales“. (Shannon Marks, 2015, livestrong.com)

I must admit I did weigh myself a lot, I’ve managed to go from an everyday weigh in (which is a habit from my underweight days) to now every week. I now tend to measure my body and write my progress down to make sure that i am still losing inch’s, even though my weight is the same. It’s all science that I don’t really understand but what I do know is, I am fitter and stronger but instead of training to lose weight I now train to be a superhero! That’s right people of the universe I am going to super human level no matter how long that takes and I’m lifting my way there.

Keep setting fresh goals everyday! Today I’m going to order the healthy option, I’m going to that class that’s a little harder, I’m going to go for that walk or run that I have avoided for weeks. The greatest achievements are never easy but when you start to reach for what you want, life can get so much more interesting.

Peace out xxx

 

